A Time to Get my Geek on….

Whilst at work this week I ended up reading this. Which led to this. And then to this. I do actually work most of the time just so you know.

It got me thinking. In my group of friends I am one that is most likely to pass for a non-geek. On the other hand I’m not going to be accepted into non-geek circles immediately because sometimes I might as well have geek tattooed on my forehead.

Google tells me the definition of geek is;

geek

/gēk/

Noun
  1. An unfashionable or socially inept person.
  2. A person with an eccentric devotion to a particular interest: “a computer geek”.

Under than definition I’m not a geek. Other stereotypes I do not fulfil; I don’t read comics, rarely read graphic novels, I don’t own geeky t-shirts (thinking of The Big Bang Theory Boys here), I am only a beginner at techy things, and, oh yeah, I’m not male.

The question I’m trying to ask here is are the stereotypes more important or that I identify myself as a geek? Does the label make the person or does the person make the label?

Back in April last year our group of friends went to see Avengers Assemble. We all loved it. Yet when we saw someone who was wearing a full Captain America outfit we all had a laugh. He would have weighed about 8 stone wet through wearing his leather outfit. Anyone could have looked at him and thought “Geek”. Yet really who am I to judge. I have worn some ridiculous outfits in the name of fancy dress, sometimes I feel better in fancy dress because I get to hide behind a persona. If he felt like the person he wanted to be in that outfit more power to him.

I suppose what I am trying to say is be who you want to be. In my case that’s a speccy, femal whovian with a passion for cross-stitch. A geek in other words.

I’ve decided to make my own labels.

2 thoughts on “A Time to Get my Geek on….

  1. Does the term “knitting geek” or “yarn geek” work I wonder- I fit the definition of someone with an eccentric devotion, there fore a geek- but perhaps not as we know it!?! Very confusing 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

