Top Ten Tuesday – Desert Island

So I finally have something for each day of the week! YAY! This doesn’t mean I will be posting everyday as I do actually have a life but now I have a subject on which to post every day.

So without further ado welcome to list day aka Top Ten Tuesdays. This way I was make a list during the week and then post it here and have a natter.

The first one is a classic – if you were stuck on a desert island and were only allowed 10 singles which ones would you choose?

The only rules I’ve enforced on myself is that I will not be using any of my songs from my 30 days challenge.

So (impersonating Tony Blackburn) in at number 10:

Hound Dog – http://youtu.be/GALKFeBsJ-s
(Unable to embed for some reason)

If I was stuck on a desert island I’d be quite miserable so I would need a couple of happy songs. A great song from a great movie with a dance!

Number 9:
Maria by Blondie

Awe the memories. This was on the first album I ever bought for myself. It was some sort of completion album, pretty sure it was Now 38 or some equivalent. It was the very last track on the tape (yes, cassette tape!) and it got rewound and played that much I pretty much ruined it. And started my love affair with Blondie.

Number 8:
Ever Fallen In Love Someone (Who Shouldn’t Have Fallen in Love With) by The Buzzcocks

This would totally be my thrash it song. If I was on a desert island I would go mental. So to let off steam I would totally headbang to this song.

Number 7:
Love Is A Battlefield by Pat Benetar

No reason apart from I love it.

Number 6:
What Have I Done to Deserve This? By Pet Shop Boys and Dusty Springfield.

I was so torn. I wanted Pet Shop Boys to feature in this list. I wanted Dusty Springfield to appear in this list. While this isn’t the best song by either of them it’s still better than the majority of songs anyone else can produce. So I split the difference and included this one.

Number 5:
While My Guitar Gentle Weeps by The Beatles.

Who was the greatest Beatles songwriter? Lennon or McCartney? Neither. It was George Harrison. He wrote both my favourite songs, While my Guitar gentle Weeps and Here Comes The Sun. But for this list I chose the first because seriously at the moment we don’t need anymore sun so I’m not tempting fate by adding that.

Number 4:
Red Light Spells Danger by Billy Ocean

Ok I give no s**ts if this is consider cheesy/uncool/too disco/insert insult of choice here. This guy is a legend and this song makes me happy no matter what mood I am in. Hopefully one day I will get to see him play live, actually gutted that I missed his tour last year.

Number 3:
Stoned in Love by Chicane feat. Tom Jones.

This is another one of “I don’t care what you think of my taste in music I love it songs”

Number 2:
Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen

Does this really need to be explained? As someone once said “This isn’t a song, its an opera.” As odd as it sounds I agree. The emotions, the changes and, simply, Freddie Mercury’s Voice. If I was on a desert island I think I could listen to it a 1000 times and still find something new with each listen.

Number 1:
Hotel California by The Eagles.

Unusual?

I just think its one of the most perfect songs ever. I could listen to it on repeat. And if I was on a desert island I probably would.

Leave a Reply

