Fun Friday: Breakfast TV

I’ve been watching breakfast TV quite a lot this week and it brings up conversations for the entire day.

Even today they’ve had a serious discussion on the outcomes of the badger culling (FYI: it didn’t appear to be very effective) with the ever eloquent Brian May (FYI: not sarcasm, I genuinely think Brian May is one of the nicest people and very intelligent. He also seems to put a great deal of thought into everything he says), a discussion of the worlds largest air craft funded by the lead singer of Iron Maiden and lots of pretty pictures of the Northern Lights. And this is the point I am making. With Breakfast TV you never know what you are going to wake up to.

I can think of a couple of times there were exceptions, such as 9/11 or the night Princess Diana died. Both these times, even though I was a child, I turned on the morning TV and these stayed on the TV all day not just at Breakfast. You can tell though that even as a child we watched breakfast TV or occasionally the radio, and I think this is where my habit formed.

As I said at the beginning though Breakfast TV set us up for the day. How many times have you started a conversation with friends, family or work colleagues with the words “I saw on the TV this morning…” or “Did you listen to the radio this morning?” Even on Tuesday evening my husband came home and said “Did you catch BBC Breakfast this morning?” I had that morning and knew exactly which bit of the show he was going to talk to me about.

There was a segment on BBC Breakfast about the international TV fair that was been held. It was mainly about how British TV shows were dominating the international market, either in their original format, such as Top Gear, Downton Abbey and Sherlock, or been adapted, such as Strictly Come Dancing in Panama or Come Dine With Me in India. The whole segment seemed to promote the international element of TV yet at the same time highlighting that American TV has taken a decline at the moment. It gave no indication of why American TV was suffering a decline but if I was to offer an opinion then I would say it has more advert breaks than the average European show. Just as an example the BBC has no adverts and the average half hour show on ITV (the main commercial channel) has somewhere between 5-7 minutes of adverts. Based on the length of half hour comedies from America, Big Bang Theory I’m looking at you, there can be anywhere between 10 and 12 minutes of adverts, almost double what we are use to.

However none of the above was the reason that my husband mentioned the segment. It was because of one tiny throwaway line, the interviewer asked a Finnish TV Executive what the number one import was from British TV. His reply: Heartbeat! Let me explain. Heartbeat is no longer produced in the Uk, it was axed in 2009 but the final episodes were filmed long before. Heartbeat was a major part of my childhood, Sunday nights, hot Chocolate, Heartbeat and going to bed when the theme music of London’s Burning started. It was also set in my home county of Yorkshire. This meant not only did I recognised the places they were talking about but I could visit them on trips to the seaside.

20140228-093038.jpg

Didn’t we make a cute family?

20140228-093113.jpg

Me on the road where The Royal, Heartbeats spin off show, was filmed.

To know that something I hold dear (warning dear reader, mock me at your peril. Even though both Heartbeat and The Royal are uncool/naff/for old people I hold them dear and will defend them) is still been appreciated in another country makes me feel warm. It also gives me a sense of hope.

I read about Amazon resurrecting Ripper Street after it was cancelled by the BBC (Also I set the link to the BBC website, it’s fun sometimes to see the irony, they cancelled a show only for it to be bought by another company) To be fair Ripper Street was only cancelled in December and not several years ago but the thought that with enough support a TV show can be brought back. It did actually happen recently with Birds of a Feather, ironically enough also lost by the BBC to another channel.

So really I’ve just gone on a bit of a ramble. But my point still stands, Breakfast TV creates conversation for the day, sometimes it even inspires blog posts.

Leave a Reply

