WIP Wednesday: Simplicity K2250

Good Morning, WordPressers! Yes it may only be 8:15 but it is a wonderful morning and I am in good spirits. Ok so it’s actually a really really foggy morning but it’s not putting a dampener on my mood.

I finally seemed to shift the cold I’d gained from my lovely new colleagues and had a good nights sleep. I’ve still got a little cough but no longer a bright red nose or sound really hoarse. When I woke up this morning I even did my exercise DVD and home of the household chores that had built up. But most excitedly I got to work on my sewing machine.

Have I introduced my brother?

20140312-081814.jpg

Yes he’s basic but I love him all the same. He was a gift for my 21st birthday and like the traditional gifts of a 21st I will keep him forever.

So onto the pattern. I know I gave what was a little sneak peek photo the other day but I suppose I should start with the pattern.

20140312-082006.jpg

Sorry for the poor quality photo.

I’m not making the dress but the jacket. There are a couple of reasons for this. The jacket has no buttonholes or zippers to insert making my life easier. This is the first time I’m using my sewing machine in about 18 months and I want to just remember the basics again. Also the dress has a beautiful yet complicated wrap to the front and back. And finally I somehow ended up with two copies of this pattern so even if I completely mess this up I still have a spare, which is lucky because looking at the Simplicity Website it looks like the pattern is discontinued.

So onto the sewing.

20140312-082717.jpg

Yes my darts are wonky. Yes the left one in the photo, but the right hand side of the jacket, is deeper than the right. Yes it looks like I’ve somehow not managed to match the two sides at all, even the colour looks different! But I don’t care because I’m genuinely having fun.

I did decided to do something a little easier for the next stage though and make the belt.

20140312-083052.jpg

All 240cm of it. The picture does not do it justice. And it was sewing the right sides together and then turning it inside out. I think i over estimated how much I could complete in half hour.

As they say in the stitching world, I think I’ve found my bug!

Lent Updates: 7 days down, 33 to go. I’m not really craving coca cola and the moment and found an fantastic lunchtime alternative in Iced Tea. Yummy but less calories and not carbonated.

3 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Simplicity K2250

Leave a Reply

