Fun Friday: Gig Review; Manic Street Preachers

Here’s some honesty: I’m not a huge fan of the Manic Street Preachers. However I won the tickets in a competition and I’m not going to turn down free tickets to any gig.

Let’s start with the warm up act, The Eagulls.

Hmmm, where to start. I’m gonna write as if I’m actually speaking to them. Boys I really wanted to like you, I really, really did. You were a local band that were part of the post-punk scene. However I don’t know if it was the venue or something else but I didn’t feel we connected. And I don’t even want to lie and say “it’s not you, it’s me”. For all I know it could be a combination of things. It did appear your second guitarist was having some issues with his kit and spent most of your set talking to the tech/sound guys. Lead singer you also kinda reminded me as a weird love child between Jarvis Cocker and Noël Gallagher who was heavily influenced by Kurt Cobain. (Cockers long arms and graceful inelegance, Gallaghers stage presence and Cobains voice (or maybe I’m wrong)) . Either way boys I wish you the best I’m not sure I will ever call myself a fan of your music.

Now the main act. I’ve already admitted I wasn’t a huge fan and it wasn’t my top priority to buy tickets, but when I got a pair for free I wasn’t going to turn down going.

And honestly I had a great time, even with the crowd been a bit empty.

The issue I had wasn’t that I didn’t have a good time, or didn’t recognised the songs, or even was just bored but I had an awfully long day at work and only had 3 hours notice to pick up the tickets. So after a stressful day at work, a rush to pick up the tickets and then finally running to the arena I just didn’t feel engaged enough to appreciate it like I normally would. When I’m going to a gig I normally plan out the day and build up my excitement. I couldn’t do that for this gig and in hindsight it means I think I was a little too tires, stressed and mentally still at work to fully appreciate the gig.

The one good thing that did come out of it was my husband appreciation. As I have said previously while we both like a wide range of music the stuff we actually listen to on a day to day basis is very different and agreeing on something to listen to together can be difficult. However we have now added Manic Street Preachers to the list of bands we will listen to together.

And to leave you with my (very poor quality) video of my favourite song.

Leave a Reply

