Top Ten Tuesday: 10 reasons Easter is fantastic!

Easter weekend is nearly here so I’d thought I’d celebrate with a list.

10. The mornings are brighter and the nights are shorter.

Ok so technically this is a Spring thing but I only really start to notice it this week. Maybe it’s because It felt like the clocks changed later this year but bright mornings make me feel better for the day.

9. Better Weather

Honestly this is as separate point. You can have the sun rising earlier but it can still be drizzling. But this week, The week before Easter it’s really brightened up. I’ve put away the big woollen winter coat and rainjackets and have managed to just wear a cotton jacket and been comfortable on my walk to work. Please let the nice weather stay.

8. Easter bonnets

Did you ever do this at school? I know I did.

20140415-084106.jpg

(I’m the one in the bonnet if you didn’t guess)

And talking about putting children in stupid outfits….

7. Easter outfits

20140415-084251.jpg

From here. Ok so less stupid and more very, very cute.

6. Easter holiday

I have a feeling Americans call this Spring Break. Whatever it’s called it means that children and students get 2 whole weeks (here in the UK) to enjoy the first sun of the year (or for those with exams spend 13 days in the library and then cram two weeks of fun into one day)

5. Passover

Ok so I know j was talking about Easter but let’s make this diverse. Passover started yesterday evening and it will fit into Point 1 below.

4. Easter Egg Hunts

Who doesn’t like to spend a couple of hours (or more) looking for….

3. Chocolate Easter Eggs

Yes I know how childish but I don’t care. Easter egg chocolate is the best thing ever. Especially if you have up chocolate for Lent.

2. Time for Reflection

I couldn’t write about Easter without mentioning the true meaning. Yes it’s not a big part of it for me but I will go to Church and just take a moment to reflect on…well everything.

1. Family Time

As my family gets older we seem to spend less time together. Yet we make an effort for occasions over the year. So this Easter I will be sitting down to a Easter dinner with my immediate family (possibly minus the husband who may be working 😞) and we will drink, eat and be merry. And the add to the fun adults also get two bank holidays to make it an extra special long weekend, so it’s not just the children who have time off. This means I get to spend Friday and Saturday with my little sister and Sunday with the family. Hopefully I will also have time on Monday to see a friend. So I get to see all my favourite people in one weekend.

Isn’t Easter just the best?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 reasons Easter is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

