WIP Wednesday: Welcome to Corfu (nearly!)

I’m writing this in the plane, 35,000 feet in the air and just above Germany, and writing this offline to post when I land even though that will be about 8pm England time, 10pm Greek time, bedtime for Me. That may be a slight exaggeration but me and the husband have had a few late nights and many early mornings.

So first things first, the luggage saga. You know last post I moaned how we were well overweight and I still had packed any crafts? Well I weighed the cases again, swearing that they felt lighter than last year, ripped out more “heavy” items (my second pair of shoes, the husbands jean shorts) and they were still over. So I decided to borrow my mums luggage scales because I knew her were accurate and I was really beginning to not trust our new pair. What to know what was wrong? We were reading the weight in pounds rather than kilograms. This is very typical for me, I most definitely live up to the blonde stereotype. However husband, he’s very technically able so I genuinely don’t know how he made the same mistake. As a result we were not just under the weight limit we were less than half our allowance. So what did I do?

20140627-184431-67471589.jpg

You guessed right, I packed loads of wool. Maybe a bit too much. Hopefully though this means I will have lots of updates over the next two weeks and actually, you know, blog, not this sporadic excuse for blogging I’ve been doing the last couple of months.

It’s also been crazy busy again even I three days; we went to see The Eagles on Monday (full gig review to follow) and yesterday was crazy busy.

We were flying from a London airport so we (husband and I, it’s always husband and I when I say we, unless it’s a Thursday then I might mean the knitting group) decided to travel down the day before and see a friend who lived in the capital. This was great even if it did have a couple of hiccups. We were knackered from not getting in until 1am Tuesday morning from The Eagles and we were up again at 6am to do last minute packing and catch the train. When we finally arrived at London out friend was suppose to meet us but got stuck at work so we spent a couple of hours at Kings Cross. Which would be fine but the husband works at Kings Cross so doesn’t really like spending time there, there not really much to do and we were lugging round two suitcases which was a bit of a hindrance.

When we left the suitcases at our friends house we decided to go shopping. We went to a place called Westfields, which I have since discovered they have more than one of in London. It was amazing. We ended up about spending about 4 hours in there in the end. And a majority of that was me in John Lewis looking in the haberdashery. I know I had just spent money on the previous Saturday on lots of lovely things (which I still have to post about) but I had to go have a look. Yes, I still ended up buying a couple if things but with perfectly valid reasons. Firstly on the train I was working on the Hearts and Flowers jumper when the stopper end of my needle disappeared. As it was there one second and then I looked again and it was gone. Although it did create the amusing sight of me crawling on the train trying to find the end, but to no avail. So I bought myself a pair of new 3mm so my stitches don’t all slide off the end. And the husband bought the other 5 pairs and the lovely wrap to hold them. I also bought one more pattern for the mountain of yarn I bought the previous Saturday. So not a huge spending spree. I wish I had pictures but alas again I don’t.

To say I was eager to do a bit knitting last night was a little bit of an understatement. Unfortunately I didn’t get chance as by the time we had eaten and got back to our friends house it was about midnight. Another late night. This morning wasn’t too bad as we got up at 7 but it was still earlier than I wanted. And it meant I couldn’t do any knitting. As we were also on the way to the airport I couldn’t take my knitting out of the suitcases to spend any time on it as the rule about no knitting needles was correct.

Only to get to the airport and be hit with a 4 hour delay. Thanks French air staff who decided to strike today. I respect anyone’s right to strike but on very little sleep I was grumpy at the situation. I wish I had my needles as I would have got loads of progress done and would have had loads of pictures.

The result is I am now overtired and writing this blog just to occupy myself.

Also to the WIP of this post: sorry there are none to report really. I just like to tag all my posts on the same day with the same tags. I am a little weird like that.

From 35,000 feet with horrible turbulence, Captain Stitches signing off.

PS. I now realise that I am posting this on Friday which makes the day rule even more weird. Unfortunately (or fortunately, you decide) I have been unable to access any wifi since landing. So here is a very late post. Expect a spam as I use all the free wifi in the bar I can muster.

One thought on “WIP Wednesday: Welcome to Corfu (nearly!)

Leave a Reply

